You are currently viewing The New Testament – A Brief Overview
File Photo

The New Testament – A Brief Overview

27 Books and 9 Authors
The New Testament contains 27 different books written by nine different authors. Every author of the New Testament was Jewish except for Luke. Three of the writers: Matthew, Peter, and John were among the 12 disciples who walked with Christ during his earthly ministry. Jesus promised his disciples that the Holy Spirit would bring all things to remembrance of what Jesus said and did.

List of the 9 authors of the 27 books of the New Testament, with authors names and Greek meanings.

The New Testament Authors and their Books
Author NT Book (s) Greek Meaning
Matthew Matthew According to Matthew
Mark Mark According to Mark
Luke Luke According to Luke
Acts Acts or Deeds of Apostles
John John According to John
1 John First (letter) of John
2 John Second (letter) of John
3 John Third (letter) of John
Revelation Revelation of John
James James Of James
Jude Jude Jude
Paul Romans To the Romans
1 Corinthians First (letter) to the Thessalonians
2 Corinthians Second (letter) to the Thessalonians
Galatians To the Galatians
Ephesians To the Ephesians
Philippians To the Philippians
Colossians To the Colossians
1 Thessalonians First (letter) to the Thessalonians
2 Thessalonians Second (letter) to the Thessalonians
1 Timothy First (letter) to Timothy
2 Timothy Second (letter) to Timothy
Titus To Titus
Philemon To Philemon
Unknown Hebrews To the Hebrews
1 Peter 1 Peter First (letter) of Peter
2 Peter 2 Peter Second (letter) of Peter

Hebrews 8:6 – “But now he has obtained a more excellent ministry, by so much as he is also the mediator of a better covenant, which on better promises has been given as law.”

Facebook Comments Box

Leave a Reply